Around Our School
A Proud Past and an Exciting Future!
Carrickfergus Model Primary School was established within the original Model School System for Ireland and was opened in 1860. The original red brick and sandstone building was replaced with the present modern structure in 1960. Much of the history of the school is still in evidence with the original solid stone perimeter wall and the remains of the old master’s garden. Our building is extremely well maintained and we aim to provide the best learning environment for our children and working environment for our staff. Children attend from all parts of the borough of Carrickfergus. Due to the proximity of the Belfast Road, the Model is a popular choice for working parents. Our strive towards excellence and the maintenance of high standards are also important aspects of our standing within the local community.
Our school has nine classrooms and five mobile classrooms on three levels. We can cater for 406 pupils and are currently at full capacity. We have 14 single entry classes equating to two of each year group. We have a fully networked computer system, a dedicated ICT suite, a library, a music room, a Multi-Sensory room, a Learning Support room and a school canteen. We also have a large hall for assemblies, lunchtime facilities, Functions, Physical Education, Carol Services and Musical Productions. Outside, we have deceptively large grounds with a large secure playground, a field containing an outdoor classroom, willow dome and nature corner. There is also a small garden with raised beds for ECO Schools activities. Beside our main playground, we have an adventure playground with play equipment which our pupils use regularly. We also have a secure inner courtyard where our youngest children can experience outdoor play.